The Toledo Women's Bar Association

  • Home
  • Meet the Board

Toledo Women's Bar Association Board 2020-2021

President: Samantha Meiers is a law clerk to the Honorable Jeffrey J. Helmick at the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio.  Samantha graduated from the University of Toledo College of Law in 2016, where she began her involvement in the Toledo Women's Bar Association. In her capacity as the Women's Law Student Association's TWBA representative, she served on both boards as a liaison between the two organizations.  As a law student, Samantha also worked as a research assistant for the Toledo Women Lawyers History Project.  After graduating law school, Samantha continued her service on the TWBA board and her involvement with the Toledo Women Lawyers History Project, co-chairing the CLE committee who hosted the Balancing the Scales event recognizing Women's History Month and the Project.  Samantha has also served on the TWBA membership committee, and is a member of the Toledo Bar Association, the Junior Bar Association, and the Morrison R. Waite Inn of Court.  Contact information:

President-Elect: Carrie Connelly obtained her law degree from the University of Toledo in 2007 after graduating from the University of Cincinnati in 2002. Carrie is currently employed as court mediator at the Ohio Sixth District Court of Appeals. Carrie has also worked as a staff attorney at Student Legal Services, Inc. at Bowling Green State University, and as law clerk for the Hon. Francis X. Gorman at the Toledo Municipal Court. Prior to beginning her two terms as treasurer, Carrie served as the Law School Committee chair. Since her time as a WLSA member, Carrie has been inspired by the women in the TWBA, and she is very much looking forward to serving this organization. Contact information:  

Vice President: Krys Beech. Contact information:

Past-President: Rebecca Facey is an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney in Lucas County. Rebecca graduated from the University of Toledo College of Law in 2014, DePaul University in 2004, and Roy C. Start High School in 2000. After law school, Rebecca was hired directly into the Domestic Crimes Unit of the Prosecutor's Office where she focuses on felony cases involving intimate partner violence. Before becoming a lawyer, Rebecca co-founded the non-profit organization, Independent Advocates, which provided comprehensive court advocacy services to victims of domestic violence in Toledo and the surrounding area. As a law student, Rebecca served as President of the Women's Law Student Association and was awarded the Toledo Women's Bar Association scholarship in 2013. Rebecca has been a member of the Toledo Women's Bar Association since law school and finds the programming and professional community of this organization unlike any other. Contact information:

Treasurer: Lauren Carpenter.

Secretary: Megan McNulty has been an Assistant Attorney General in the Consumer Protection Section of the Ohio Attorney General’s Office since 2007.  She primarily litigates cases under the Consumer Sales Practices Act.  Before joining the Attorney General’s office, she was an Assistant Lucas County Prosecutor in the Juvenile Division.  She obtained her law degree from the University of Toledo College of Law in 2004 and her undergraduate degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio in 2001.  She became involved with the Board for the Toledo Women’s Bar Association two years ago and has previously served on the CLE committee.  This year, she is pleased to continue serving the Board as its secretary. Contact information:

3rd Year Trustee: 


Margaret Lockhart practices in the areas of labor and employment law and education law. She is certified by the OhioState Bar Association as a Specialist in Employment and Labor law. She has tried cases in both state and federal courts and before state and federal administrative agencies and has argued appeals in state and federal courts, including the Ohio Supreme Court. Margaret also handles labor negotiations, fact-finding proceedings, labor and commercial arbitrations, policy and handbook reviews, workplace investigations, teacher termination proceedings, and supervisor training for private and public sector employers. Margaret lectures frequently on labor and employment and education law topics.   Margaret served for ten years as a judge pro tem of the Perrysburg Municipal Court. Margaret served as law clerk to the Hon. Robert E. DeMascio, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan from 1986-88.  Contact information: 

2nd Year Trustee: 

Kathryn Sandretto is an Assistant Lucas County Prosecutor. She began her career with the Lucas County Prosecutor’s office in 2007 and for the past two years has served as the Lucas County Domestic Crimes Prosecutor. Prior to her time with the Lucas County office Kathryn worked for the City of Toledo Prosecutor’s Office. Today Kathryn serves as one the of the County’s three Preliminary Hearing Prosecutors. Kathryn obtained her law degree in 2005 from The Ohio State University and her undergraduate in 2001 from Bradley University. She became involved with the Toledo Women’s Bar Association five years ago and finds that it is one of the most supportive, and positive bar associations in Northwest Ohio.  Contact

1st Year Trustee:

Kara Ford is an attorney at Legal Aid of Western Ohio. Her practice areas include housing, health, public benefits, domestic violence, and consumer issues. She is the co-chair of the Ohio legal aid Health and Public Benefits Taskforce. She graduated from The Ohio State University in 2015 with a J.D. and a M.A. in Public Policy and Management. She also received her B.A. in Political Science from Ohio State. She joined the Toledo Women's Bar Association in 2016. Contact information:


Standing Committee Chairs 2020-2021

Membership: Jen Ramon
 Program: Krysten Beech and Mike Mikkonen
Electronic Media: Emily Morrison and Molly Ebraheim
Newsletter: Sara Al-Sorghali

Social: Deyana Unis & Jody King

Special Committee Chairs 2020-2021

Women's History Project: Hon. Arlene Singer



Mentorship: Tracey Ballard Tangeman and Amy Luck

Toledo Women's Bar Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 1724, Toledo, Ohio 43603-1724

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software